Montreal International Poetry Prize Event Presented by the Hart House Literary and Library Committee

The Montreal International Poetry Prize, which offers $50,000 for a single poem written in English, is the world’s first crowd-funded major literary award. This year saw more than 3,200 entries received from 59 countries. For more information about the Montreal International Prize, please visit:

Mark Tredinnick is an Australian poet who won the 2011 Montreal Prize with his poem Walking Underwater. The poem was chosen in a “blind” process by former UK poet laureate Andrew Motion from a shortlist of nearly 50 poems. Tredinnick is the author of The Blue Plateau, Fire Diary, and nine other acclaimed works of poetry and prose, and lives in the highlands southwest of Sydney, Australia. For more information please visit:

Linda Rogers is a Canadian poet whose poem The Grasshoppers’ Silence” won the 2011 Montreal Poetry Prize Broadside. Rogers has written several books of poetry, including The Bursting Test and Rehearsing the Miracle, and lives in Victoria, British Columbia.

Please join us at the Hart House Library on April 30th at 5:30pm.

This event is free and open to the public.

Red Quarter Moon at the Faculty Club


Griffin Poetry Prize 2012 Shortlist Announced!

April is the cruelest month but for these shortlisted poets it’s their favorite time of year. Here are the 2012 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlisted poets:

Canadian Shortlist:

Methodist Hatchet – Ken Babstock (House of Anansi Press)

Killdeer – Phil Hall (BookThug)

Forge – Jan Zwicky (Gaspereau Press)

International Shortlist:

Night – David Harsent (Faber and Faber)

Chameleon Couch – Yusef Komunyakaa (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

November – Sean O’Brien (Picador)

Sobbing Superpower: Selected Poems of Tadeusz Różewicz

Translated by Joanna Trzeciak (W.W. Norton & Company)

This year’s judges Heather McHugh (USA), David O’Meara (Canada) and Fiona Sampson (England) each read 481 books of poetry, from 37 countries, including 19 translations. All 7 finalists will receive $10,000 for their participation in the Shortlist Readings on June 6th at Koerner Hall. The winners (one international and one Canadian) will be announced on June 7th and will be awarded $65,000.