The Griffin Poetry Prize

On May 31st the Koerner Hall was transformed into a world of words. It was a lovely venue for such a wonderful event. The next day Dionne Brand and Gjertrud Schnackenberg were announced as winners of the prestigious award. Visit the U of T Bookstore for your autographed copies of the books as well as the Anthology edited by Tim Lilburn.

The 2011 International and Canadian Shortlist for The Griffin Poetry Prize

Each year The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry invites 7 finalists, three Canadian and four International, to read in Toronto at Koerner Hall at The Royal Conservatory of Music in the TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning. The 7 finalists will be awarded $10,000 for their participation in the shortlist readings on May 31st and the winners will be awarded $65,000 each on June 1, 2011.


International Shortlist:

Human Chain by Seamus Heaney

Adonis: Selected Poems translated by Khaled Mattawa from the Arabic written by Adonis

The Book of the Snow translated by Philip Mosley from the French written by Francois Jacqmin

Heavenly Questions by Gjertrud Schnackenberg

Canadian Shortlist:

Ossuaries by Dionne Brand

The Irrationalist by Suzanne Buffam

Lookout by John Steffler

The judges on the panel include none other than Tim Lilburn (Canada), Colm Toibin (Ireland) and Chase Twichel (USA). But in order to form my own opinions and hear back from the people I will be reading and reviewing each nominee. So stay tuned for some poetry reviews and please don’t be shy in sharing your opinions as well.

The 2010 Griffin Poetry Prize

Please join us tomorrow night at Koerner Hall for readings of the shortlisted titles for this years Griffin Poetry Prize.

This year the prize money has been doubled from $100,000 to $200,000!

$10,000 is to be awarded to each of the seven shortlisted poets  for their participation in the shortlist readings. The winners, announced at the Griffin Poetry Prize Awards evening on Thursday, June 3, 2010, will be awarded $65,000 each, for a total of $75,000 including the $10,000 awarded at the Readings the previous evening.

This year the Canadian shortlist is:

The Certainty Dream by Kate Hall

Coal and Roses by P.K. Page

Pigeon by Karen Solie

The International shortlist is:

Grain by John Glenday

A Village Life by Louise Gluck

The Sun-fish by Eilean Ni Chuilleanain

Cold Spring in Winter by Susan Wicks, translated from the French written by Valerie Rouzeau

“Each year, the Griffin Poetry Prize publishes an anthology, a selection of poems from the shortlisted books, published by House of Anansi Press. Royalties from The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology are donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day.”